Search

1st INQUA-MARE Workshop: Antarctic Realm

Location
Online meeting
Dates
-
Contact person
INQUA-MARE
E-Mail address
inqua.mare@gmail.com

 

The workshop will take place online from 29 November - 1 December, 2021.

The deadline for abstracts is 25 November 2021.

Participation is free.

Description

The INQUA-MARE project, funded by INQUA, is meant to bring together scientists studying Holocene marine sediment records from Arctic, Antarctic and Tropical regions, the most sensitive to climate change. The main objective is to bring researchers together, in order to meet, share and discuss scientific interconnections between these areas, targeting the integration of data and knowledge on the recent evolution of the Earth’s climate. Therefore, although this year we will receive abstracts concerning the Antarctic realm, we aim to have as auditors researchers studying both the two poles and the tropics.
 
Award: Best Early Career Researcher's Talk

We will award the best Early Career Researcher's Talk (either Oral presentations or Speed talks related to posters; see definition of Early-Career Researcher at www.inqua.org/ecr) with an Open Access Publication Fee on Quaternary International, the official journal of the International Union for Quaternary Research.

Abstracts

Abstract, concerning the Antarctic realm, should be sent to inqua.mare@gmail.com while registration can be sent by filling in the Google Form:
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSe1RuWr6d3bsGEinREyGWmOoeViAlcMavOcohHEs_3MAeC3nQ/viewform?usp=sf_link
or by writing an e-mail to inqua.mare.network@gmail.com until November 25th, indicating:

  • Title (student, MSc, PhD, Prof., pronoun-s, etc.)
  • Name
  • Surname
  • Affiliation
  • Nationality

Preliminary schedule
 

 Date  29 November  30 November  1 December
 Theme  Age Model and Proxies  Oceanography and Modelling  Expeditions, databases and Sorting centers
 12:50 pm UTC (1:50 pm CET)  – 1:00 pm UTC (2:00 pm CET)  Receiving and welcoming  -  -
 1 pm UTC (2 pm CET) – 1:30  pm UTC (2:30 pm CET)  1st keynote
 Tommaso Tesi
 1st keynote
 Laura De Santis & Florence Colleoni
 1st keynote
 Ester Colizza
 1:30 pm UTC (2:30 pm CET) –
 2:30 pm UTC (3:30 CET)
 Oral session  Oral session  Oral session
 15 mins interval  15 mins interval  15 mins interval   15 mins interval
 2:45 pm UTC (3:45 pm CET) – 3:15 pm UTC (4:15 pm CET)  2nd keynote
 Alexey Fedorov
 2nd keynote
 Vedrana Kovačević
 2nd keynote
 Franco Coren
 3:15 pm UTC (4:15 pm CET) – 4:15 pm UTC (5:15 pm CET)  Poster session  Poster session  Round table/ Workshop closure


More information

INQUA-MARE has several social accounts where they periodically post news on the project and on the events:

  • Twitter (@InquaMare)
  • Instagram (inquamare)
  • Facebook (Inqua-Mare)

Also, more information on the objectives of the INQUA-MARE project and on its  schedule for the next years can be found on the webpage of the Coastal & Marine Processes (CMP) Commission (https://www.inqua.org/commissions/cmp/projects/2002P).