Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

CLIVAR Climate Dynamics Panel (CDP) annual workshop: External versus internal variability on decadal and longer time scales

Online meeting
Contact person
Liping Yin
E-Mail address


Online 6 weekly 2-hour sessions from 12 September to 21 October 2022


The International CLIVAR Climate Dynamics Panel (CDP) plans to organize workshops annually. The first CDP annual workshop will target our understanding of internal and externally forced variability in the climate system, their interaction on decadal timescales and longer, and the effects of variability on extreme events. We invite submissions on the topic with the aim of tackling the following overarching questions:

• How to isolate the relative contributions of external and internal variability to observed decadal and longer variability?

• How do the various external forcings modulate internal variability? 

• Progress in narrowing observational and modeling uncertainties in external and internal variability

• Effects of external and internal variability on extreme events

We welcome studies based on models (including SMILEs), theory, historical and proxy observations, novel methods (e.g., ensemble paleoclimate reanalysis). The goal of this workshop is to foster discussion that will stimulate focused research on this important topic.


The workshop will consist of 6 weekly 2-hour sessions from September 12th to October 21st, 2022, including 4 oral sessions, 1 poster session and 1 final panel discussion. The sessions will be on each Wednesday with the timings varying to accommodate participation from different time zones.

Abstract submission

Please register and submit the abstract here. Please kindly note that oral sessions are intended to set the stage for the panel discussion so there will be very few abstracts selected for oral presentation.
Abstract submission deadline: June 24th (Extended to July 1st)


Registration deadline: 1 September
Note: please send email to or if you have any problems.


Please stay tuned for the detailed programme, it will be announced on 30 July
Scientific Organizing committee
• Sarah Kang (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology)
• Noel Keenlyside (University of Bergen)
• Juliette Mignot (IRD/Sorbonne Université)
• Natalie Burls (GMU College of Science)
• Alexey Karpechko (Finnish Meteorological Institute)
• Michael Byrne (Univ. St Andrews)

More information

Visit the website for more information: