Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Scientific Steering Committee (SSC)

SSC Hybrid Meeting 2022
PAGES Scientific Steering Committee 2022. Photo taken from day three of the Hybrid SSC Meeting held on 01 June 2022.
Online (top row, left to right): Fabrice Lambert, Zhimin Jian (PAGES Co-chair), Liping Zhou
Back (left to right): Leigh Martens Winiger (PAGES IPO), Willy Tinner (PAGES Co-chair), Martin Grosjean, Paul Valdes
Front (left to right): Sarah Eggleston (PAGES IPO), Keely Mills, Aixue Hu, Marie-France Loutre (PAGES IPO), Tamara Trofimova (ECN), Boris Vannière, Ilham Bouimetarhan, Aster Gebrekirstos, Elena Ivanova
Missing in the picture: Ed Brook, Emilie Capron, M. Eugenia Ferrero, Pradeep Srivastava


The PAGES project is guided by an international Scientific Steering Committee (SSC).

The authority for all PAGES policies and activities resides with the PAGES SSC. Members are active scientists who represent the major disciplines in the paleosciences and provide geographical representation. Alongside expertise and nationalities, the SSC also aims to obtain a balance in gender and career stages.

Applications to become a member of PAGES' SSC are welcomed from the community, with open calls made generally once a year. More information here.

SSC tasks include:

– Overall responsibility for the PAGES project
– Developing and promoting PAGES' scientific agenda
– Communicating with the PAGES International Project Office
– Acting as a liaison to PAGES workshop organizers and working groups
– Representing PAGES at meetings
– As opportunities arise, SSC members may also host PAGES workshops, guest edit PAGES Magazine or journal issues, and coordinate national PAGES activities.

Scientists who serve on the SSC normally do so for a period of three years, with the potential of renewal for an additional term.

> Download the Terms of Reference for SSC members (pdf, 53KB).

> Download the Selection Process document for new SSC and EXCOM members (pdf, 100KB).

Executive Committee (EXCOM)

Five SSC members also serve on an Executive Committee (EXCOM), which is in more regular contact with the International Project Office. The EXCOM is selected by serving SSC members.
PAGES' Executive Director Marie-France Loutre is also an EXCOM member.

2023 SSC members


Name Area of expertise Country 2022 2023 2024
Zhimin Jian*
(Co-Chair & EXCOM)
Paleoceanography, Marine Micropaleontology China 2 2  
Emilie Capron* Paleoclimatology France 2 2  
Paul Valdes**(EXCOM) Climate modeling UK 2 2 2
Boris Vannière**(EXCOM) Paleoecology, Sedimentology, Paleofire France 2 2 2
Aster Gebrekirstos Dendrochronology Kenya 1 2 2
Liping Zhou (EXCOM) Eolian deposits, Chronology, Carbon cycle China 1 2 2
M. Eugenia Ferrero Dendrochronology, Paleoecology Argentina 1 1 2
Aixue Hu Paleoclimatology, Paleoceanography USA 1 1 2
Keely Mills Paleoecology, Paleolimnology UK 1 1 2
Pradeep Srivastava Fluvial Geology, Paleoclimate India 1 1 2
Ilham Bouimetarhan Paleoceanography, Paleoclimatology, Palynology Morocco 1 1 1
Martin Grosjean
(Co-Chair & EXCOM)
Paleolimnology Switzerland 1 1 1
Fabrice Lambert Paleoclimatology Chile 1 1 1
Lukas Jonkers Paleooceanography Germany   1 1  
Shiling Yang Sedimentology, Geochemistry China   1 1  
Juliana Nogueira (ECN) Paleoclimatology, Paleolimnolgy, Paleoecology Czechia   1    
Gilles Marciniak Future Earth liaison France      

* Rotating off the SSC at the end of 2023
** Rotating off the SSC at the end of 2024
EXCOM = Executive Committee
ECN = PAGES Early-Career Network


SSC members, in pictures

2000   Pune 2001   Amsterdam 2002   Moscow 2003   Banff
2004   Kenya 2005   Beijing 2006   Mendoza 2007   Atherton
2008   Cape Town 2009   Troutdale 2010   Nagoya 2011   Bern
2012   London 2013   Goa 2014   Paris 2015   Las Cruces
2016   Cluj Napoca 2017   Zaragoza 2018   Minneapolis 2019   Addis Ababa
2020   Online 2021   Online 2022   Bern (hybrid) 2023   TBD


Further information

> PAGES fellows

> View past meeting minutes

> Apply to become an SSC member