Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Congratulations to AGU 2023 honorees

PAGES would like to congratulate all AGU (American Geophysical Union) 2023 honorees, but a special congratulations goes to Kevin J. Anchukaitis and Cathy L. Whitlock.

The American Geophysical Union (AGU) is a non-profit association with the aim to promote advances in Earth and space science. 

Annual awards are honored to scientists in recognition of their outstanding contributions to Earth and space science, be this through research, education, science communication and/or outreach. 

PAGES would like to say a special congratulations to Kevin and Cathy who are closely connected to PAGES and its activities. 


Kevin J. Anchukaitis from the VICS - Volcanic Impacts on Climate and Society working group. 

"The Willi Dansgaard Award is presented annually and recognizes significant contributions to the fields of paleoceanography or paleoclimatology from a mid-career scientist within eight to 20 years of receiving their Ph.D. Notable contributions can include the honoree’s high research impact, innovative interdisciplinary work, educational accomplishments, such as mentoring, or positive societal impact. This award also serves to acknowledge the awardee’s exceptional promise for continued leadership in paleoceanography and paleoclimatology.

Named in honor of Dr. Willi Dansgaard, a paleoclimate pioneer, especially regarding modern water isotope studies, this award is presented at the Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology section event during the AGU Fall Meeting."


Cathy L. Whitlock, PAGES SSC and EXCOM Fellow. 

"Cathy is a Regents Professor Emerita of Earth Sciences at Montana State University and a Fellow of the Montana Institute on Ecosystems. Her research focuses on understanding fire history as it relates to past vegetation, anthropogenic, and climate change. She has studied the environmental history of the northern Rockies as well as comparable mountainous landscapes in New Zealand, Tasmania, Europe, and Patagonia. She is also lead author of the 2017 Montana Climate Assessment.

The Fellows program recognizes AGU members who have made exceptional contributions to Earth and space science through a breakthrough, discovery, or innovation in their field. Fellows act as external experts, capable of advising government agencies and other organizations outside the sciences upon request.

AGU Fellows must demonstrate scientific eminence in the Earth and space sciences through achievements in research, as demonstrated by one or more of the following:

  • breakthrough or discovery
  • innovation in disciplinary science, cross-disciplinary science, instrument, data set, or methods development
  • sustained scientific impact
  • Nominees are expected to have shown exemplary leadership in following and promulgating AGU values. This leadership may include but is not limited to fostering equity, integrity, diversity, and open science; mentoring; public engagement and communication."

> Visit the AGU website for more information and to see all 2023 honorees